• Discussions taking place within this forum are intended for the purpose of assisting you in discussing options with your vet. Any other use of advice given here is done so at your risk, is solely your responsibility and not that of this forum or its owner. Before posting it is your responsibility you abide by this Statement

6 year Old Pig with health issues

Devout_Haruhiist

Junior Guinea Pig
Reaction score
Hi all,

This is my first time posting in this forum but want to get as many good opinions from other guinea pig owners as possible. My 6 year old guinea pig, Margaret, started having pain while urinating and blood about a month ago (as well as losing some weight). I took her to the vet thinking it was a stone or UTI. The vet did an ultrasound and multiple xray angles. He ruled out a stone and based on what he saw in the bladder ultrasound and the blood in urine thought it was a UTI (she's had a few over her lifetime). So we started treating her for 2 weeks on antibiotics. At first (the first few days) I saw a slight improvement but then it just kind of stayed the same.

2 weeks into the antibiotic she still had blood in her urine most of the time, still was straining and having pain peeing (she has also been on a light dose of metacam for this). Vet decided to keep her on the antibiotic a few days longer since it seemed like the blood was maybe clearing up (instead of all of the time it was most of the time). This weekend was the end of that extra period of antibiotics and over the last few days I've also noticed her weight slowly creep down again. She is still excited about veggies and generally eating, but I think slightly less.