• Discussions taking place within this forum are intended for the purpose of assisting you in discussing options with your vet. Any other use of advice given here is done so at your risk, is solely your responsibility and not that of this forum or its owner. Before posting it is your responsibility you abide by this Statement

serious Skin problems HELP! For Hels

Status
Not open for further replies.
Reaction score
Posting this for Hels as she is off to the vets
She has taken a supposedly 12 week old piggy in this morning with serious skin problems to the point the wounds are bleeding.
Looking at the Pictures I am leaning towards mites and the poor little thing is ripping himself open when he is scratching.
I am by no means an expert but what do you lot think?
No Doubt helen will fill us in when she gets back from the vets
shel5.jpg

shelti2.jpg

sheltie.jpg

HPIM3437.jpg

Graham and Hels i've seen piccies like this before, and it was mites >:( >:( >:( only from a friend in the US and she was devastated when she realised what it was :o :o :o
Good luck and please pass on all our best :smitten: :smitten: :smitten:
Sorry i'm of no help, i've just not experienced it personally :-\ :-\

Thanks Glynis
I had a feeling it was Mites,I havent actually seen him other than on these pictures.

Hope all goes well at the vets Helen and I know you have got him well away from your own Piggies

Poor boy, he's obviously scratched himself raw. He shoudl be ok once he is treated!

Pesky things mites! :(

Def looks like mites to me - I had a little guy in about a month ago in the same condition - needed 3 injections :'(

The hair all grew back very quickly though :)

MIght be worth getting a lice n easy from gg just in case there are any other infestations :-\

Poor little guy, get well soon matey! :smitten: :smitten: :smitten:

Hi All,