Yawning pig

Chickensmom

New Born Pup
Reaction score
Hello,
I’m new to this forum but not new to owning Guinea pigs.
I have a 6 year old boar named Chicken who lives with me as my ESA in college. He is the oldest Guinea pig I’ve ever owned, but not by too much. He lives alone (doesn’t get along with other piggies, trust me, I’ve tried everything) but I give him plenty of attention outside of class time. I study with him, he sits on my lap while I do my homework.
Recently, I’ve been noticing that he yawns a lot. He also rests his head on my chest and sleeps on top of me. I’m concerned that this might not be normal.
Am I just being an anxious Guinea pig parent? Or is he showing signs of aging/sickness?

Hello, welcome.
I would just like to say that I am not an expert but have spent a lot of time reading about guinea pigs, and lots of past threads on this forum.

Yawning in animals is not always the same as what we humans regard as yawning (a sort of reflex), though they may do an actual yawn like ours when waking up and stretching (it is the cutest thing on the planet!). Unusual movements of the mouth due to dental discomfort or something lodged in the mouth can appear to be yawning, as can aggression behaviours between guinea pigs, though neither are actual yawns like ours.

When you say you’ve tried everything with introducing other guinea pigs, what exactly does that cover?
Really a guinea pig is a highly social animal and should have the company of others of their own kind, social interaction with humans will provide some enrichment but will never replace interaction with other guinea pigs. Some may be very selective about what others they will tolerate the company of, but very few are actually incapable of living with others. It is a matter of having the right personality combination and the right environment, which I understand is easier said than done.