Worried about winter

Claire W

Forum Donator 2024/25
Reaction score
My piggies live in our spare bedroom and it’s the warmest room in the house.

However, like everyone, we’re concerned about rising energy costs so are trying to leave it for as long as possible before putting the heating on.

Hub has suggested that we don’t have the heating on overnight or too much upstairs during the winter but I’m worried about the pigs getting too cold. As I say, their room is the warmest in the house and it stays warm when the door is closed.

Hub says that the pigs have ‘fur coats’ and hay to snuggle in to so they’ll be fine but I’m worried. I know that outdoor pigs grow a winter coat but do indoor pigs baring in mind that we’re going to leave it for as long as possible before putting the heating on?

I have snugglesafes for when it gets really cold

I’m no expert by any means but I’ve got my piggies through cold winters with one heater, plenty of fleece tunnels and a ton of hay. Their cages are covered with fleece blankets too

I think you should have a thermometer in their room Claire and be guided by that. Keeping the door closed against drafts and closing the curtains overnight will help keep the heat in, also you could put down old rugs or throws or blankets on the floor to insulate that better.

In a small space, an oil filled radiator can be much more cheap and efficient than having the central heating on.

And a blanket over the cage at night can really help too.

They should be fine with snugglesafes, lots of hay and fleecy beds though, especially through the autumn- and they will start growing a winter coat if they gradually acclimatise to the coming winter, my Clover has already grown a layer of fuzzy guard hairs over her usual smooth coat, she does this every winter, and Blod and Luna have floofed up more ready for winter!