When Can I Cage Clean?

Status
Not open for further replies.

cyanidebaby

Junior Guinea Pig
Reaction score
Advice from other sites says leave them alone for four days, but if I don't clean the cage soon it's going to smell, and the bedding's starting to get wet under the hides so it all needs to be changed soon or they'll be sleeping in their own urine. I got them yesterday, how long should I wait?

I'm no expert but I've been in the same position as u :)
I would wait another few days maybe 1/2.
Then check under the hides and if the bedding is really bad, change the bedding under the hides.Are your pigs on shavings?! If so put a thicker layer of shavings down with some hay in the hides for extra absorption. As you said you got your pigs yesterday I would leave them for a few days as they will be terrified about their new surroundings. Make sure u have unlimited Timothy hay for them at all times x
What I would do is when the pigs aren't in one of the houses add fresh shavings over the wet ones, just for a few days so that it's cleaner.

It's all personal preference tho! Do what you think is best for your pigs. Btw guinea pigs don't really smell.
Have fun with your new piggies x

Thanks...I knew I might need to wait...SO...

...they're on safe newspaper, then shredded paper bedding, then guinea litter then hay lol

Wow hah I don't think it should get wet just yet! Hah all tht bedding should absorb it! Just add extra hay in the houses x it's up to u and your personal opinion