What does it mean when ....

• Thread starter Thread starter baby piggie
  • Start date Start date
Status
Not open for further replies.
B

baby piggie

I'm new to piggies and have only had truffles for two weeks, i was cuddling him last night and he seemed quite happy curled up in my arms, he started to lick my fingers and i was wondering is this a gesture of love or is he just licking the salt off my skin?

I'd say that it is his way of grooming you and so it is a kind of bonding thing. It shows that he is becoming close to you and so yes in a way it is a sign of guinea pig affection :)

Have you tried gently brushing him with a baby brush, most little ones (but not all ::) ) love this. It massages their skin as well as grooms their hair :)

Barbara

Angel does that a hell of a lot at night when shes on my lap,my hands normally soaked afterwards
and now Sparkles doing it
i def think its lurve and bonding

Aw I'm glad he seems to be bonding to me then. Yes, i bought a brush for him - its like a baby brush with very soft bristles - he seems to like getting brushed. :)

I have a baby brush for my pigs and wlson squeeks when i brush him lol! Cindy likes to bite thing alot though and everytime she goes to sniff my finger i get scared she will bite me lol! but m rabbit peter, she used to lick my mums fingers when she poked them through the cage :D

I don't think she's licking the salt off of your fingers at all, it's definitely affection! It's great that you have bonded so quickly ;D

Kimmie

maybe he's not getting enough salt or he just likes the taste of human! ;D
my pigs always lick but mainley when your sweaty
i would suggest getting a salt lick

KimmiesGuineas said:
I don't think she's licking the salt off of your fingers at all, it's definitely affection! It's great that you have bonded so quickly ;D

Kimmie

Totally agree :) All my lot are like this with the odd exception of a bit of nibbling from a couple!

Tonni is such a kissy pig!