Weird looking clump of hay that wasn’t there before?

cabbageisspicy

New Born Pup
Reaction score
Hey all! I’m new to posting, and wasn’t sure where else to ask about this… but I found it strange and needed to see if anyone knew what could have caused this.

I had checked in on my two male guinea pigs this evening and found this dark, condensed pile of hay in a corner that i usually keep hay away from. It wasn’t that color when i fed it to them, so i’m confused why so much hay was moved over there, and why it’s dark in color. I had a friend over for the day and she had brought her chihuahua, so I had kept them alone in my room for most of the day. This hasn’t happened before, and i can’t find anything about it anywhere.

I’m new to all this and can’t figure out how to upload pictures (Lol…), but it was thickly stacked hay that’s a darker green than usual hay. it was crumpled together so if i moved it, it kept it’s shape. at first i almost thought it was a nest or something? But i don’t think they make nests? I don’t know, it’s very strange!

Welcome to the forum

To add pictures you need to press the ‘attach files’ button below the message box. It wouldn’t have been immediately available to you upon registration but it will be now.

Oh, thank you so much! Here’s the picture i took earlier. I’ve since removed it, since now they seem like they aren’t interested in it at all.

Attachments

• 29D84117-B773-45AC-B5BD-98CCF9418316.webp
    29D84117-B773-45AC-B5BD-98CCF9418316.webp
    215.1 KB · Views: 30
If you are talking about the dark patch on the ground, then it looks like they’ve probably dragged the hay around either by eating it or dragged across by their big bellies and then lain on it. When they poo and pee in condensed areas, especially ontop of hay, you can find it can/will get quite messy.

You may also find some bright yellow hay from time to time when they have peed and walked away.