Weekly Veg Feeding Routine

lovelly22

New Born Pup
Reaction score
Hi I have 8 guinea pigs and have owned guinea pigs for many years. I have two groups of 3 piggies and one boy pair (all ranging from ages of 1 year to 6 years). I just wanted to ask whether the food I give my guinea pigs each week is good or not. I’ve been doing the same routine for many years and all my pigs are completely healthy in general, in weight, no calcium deposits etc, just thought I should ask and see what you guys think! See below:

- Monday: Red cabbage, cucumber, green peppers, apple and romaine lettuce
- Tuesday: Carrot, cucumber and Kale
- Wednesday: Red/yellow/orange peppers, carrot and spring greens
- Thursday: Carrot, broccoli, cucumber and Romaine lettuce
- Friday: Red cabbage, cucumber, green peppers, apple and kale
- Saturday: Red/yellow/orange peppers, carrot and spring greens
- Sunday: Carrot, broccoli, cucumber and romaine lettuce

I won’t include exact amounts of each veg but it’s one cup per piggie with the leafy greens on top.
I basically do a rotation of food so they get a variety and worked out a few years ago how often they should have each veg. These are the veggies they all love the best. They obviously get loads of hay every day, 20-30g of nuggets per pig a day and each morning they get one romaine lettuce leaf each as a snack. I give grass every now and then. I also give pea flake treats every couple of days.

I am open to changing my feeding routine, although there are some veggies I’ve tried them on and they don’t like them. Also, I try and avoid veggies I can’t buy in bulk or ones I have to give in small amounts only once or twice a week as I have so many piggies I don’t want the food to go off.

Any advice would be appreciated and welcome :)