Very Noisy Little Guinea Pig - Happy Or Annoyed?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Guineapig lover

Junior Guinea Pig
Reaction score
Whenever my daughter picks up one of the Guinea pigs to stroke it is ok for about 2 mins and then the Guinea makes very loud wheeking/squeaking noise it goes on for ages. I could hardly hear strictly tonight. I've listened to a few videos and apparently this is meant to be 'happy'. I think it sounds annoyed, so I make her put the Guinea pig back much to her dismay. Any thoughts?

Whenever my daughter picks up one of the Guinea pigs to stroke it is ok for about 2 mins and then the Guinea makes very loud wheeking/squeaking noise it goes on for ages. I could hardly hear strictly tonight. I've listened to a few videos and apparently this is meant to be 'happy'. I think it sounds annoyed, so I make her put the Guinea pig back much to her dismay. Any thoughts?
I'm no expert but I think they could be scared, once they are used to your daughter, hopefully that should stop.

Depends on the noise. Could you take a little video, can soon tell you what they mean. Pigs have quite a lot of noises and you can tell what they are feeling by them.

I think it's the same noise as the video, to me this sounds annoyed. But I'll try and take a video/audio as well.

I'm trying to load the video which I have taken on my phone, but it doesn't recognise the file format, anyone have a clue how to download? It's a .mov file.

I'm trying to load the video which I have taken on my phone, but it doesn't recognise the file format, anyone have a clue how to download? It's a .mov file.
Sorry we don't have the bandwidth to upload videos... You can host it at youtube or message it to our facebook page and I'l go take a look :)

This is "lost and lonely - I want to go home".
I thought similar. I get the impression the guinea wants some food that is out of view and is getting annoyed that they can't get to it and wants to get down somehow.