URGENT! Bonding Issue

PiggieSushi

New Born Pup
Reaction score
Please help. I got 2 sows 2 weeks ago. All of these time they seem to be bonding ok. There was a bit nipping at the start, but it got less on the first week. Then suddenly today, as I was about to give them their veggies, one of the girl (Mayo) chased the other (Kiwi) and bit some of her fur off. It happened twice, before and after they got their veggies, and didn't seem that Mayo would back down. Kiwi looked so scared and frozen, so I separated them for now..

She nipped Kiwi's fur off one time on the first week, but never happened anymore. The acts of dominance was happening less too on the following week. So I thought they were already accepting each other..
Should I keep them separate temporarily and reattempt bonding later? Or is it better to keep them separate permanently?

Attachments

• 20230606_132158.webp
    20230606_132158.webp
    64.5 KB · Views: 6
I'm no piggy expert but I had a bit of barbering from Willow on Blossom at the beginning. As I understand it it's just a dominance thing while they're sorting out their hierarchy. They're the best of friends now.

All I can suggest is keep an eye on them and see how they go.

Chasing and nipping is dominance. Neither of these things are concerning and do not require separation.
There is also the issue of perhaps one is having a strong season and it has increased dominance. That in itself would not necessarily be a problem.
However ripping another sows hair out is a potential problem. It is the equivalent of a boar full on fight and may mean there is a problem between them.

Barbering - eating hair - is something different and is not strictly a concern for their bond.

Acceptance happens within the first hours of bonding day so they will be well past that. However as it takes two weeks to fully form a bond, those two weeks are about establishing the hierarchy and sometimes they find they they just can’t do it.