UK can you recommend a cheaper alternative?

Charllou

New Born Pup
Reaction score
I’m in the UK and been using this hay for months now but it’s becoming costly they would eat a whole bag in 3-4 days. Can anyone recommend something similar or any tips? The cheaper hay Iv gave them they never eat it all this one no matter how much I put in there won’t be a strand left I’m constantly topping up haha!

Attachments

• A74A0100-7412-406A-9649-7D6BF750AA5E.webp
    A74A0100-7412-406A-9649-7D6BF750AA5E.webp
    18.3 KB · Views: 4
Oh gosh that is expensive hay - 1kg is a tiny amount no wonder they go through it so quickly!

Now, I have six animals so need a lot of hay but I buy meadow hay by the bale from a local farm. It’s around 25 kg and I pay £7.50 for it. I also buy a 15kg bale of orchard hay from happy hay co online and pay £31.49 for that. I have a subscription so get a bit of a discount. The orchard hay is the one they are given for eating. It works out to around £2 per kg. So it does mean your 1kg for £5.50 works out very expensive.

The 15kg orchard bale lasts my six animals around five weeks

I'd agree with Lorcan - buying in bulk online has saved us a lot of money (and hassle)!

We've recently had hay from Little Hay Co which was very well received (4kg meadow £8, 4kg silky soft hay £10.99). I'd expect this quantity to last us maybe 3-4 weeks; not sure yet, we always seem to use more when we're using hay from bags rather than boxes. Only downside was the postage at £4.75, but it was extremely quick.

We'll be trying Nature's Own next as I've heard it's cheaper and has free delivery if you spend £20 :)

Last edited: