Transporting baby (3 weeks) 1.5 hours

TheSmoresBoars

Forum Donator 2024/25
Reaction score
Hi Peeg People! We're adopting a baby boar to be buddies with one of our adult boars (about 4-5 years). He'll be 3 weeks when we're due to pick him up. We'll have to drive about 1.5 hours to bring him home - there aren't any rescues with babies any closer. Need advice on whether to transport baby alone and bond him as soon as we're home, or to bring his soon-to-be friend along and let them do a bonding session first and then travel together. We've never adopted a baby before. I'm a little worried that travel stress might upset the bonding; on the other hand, I'm worried about baby being without other pigs for too long. Perhaps 1.5 hours isn't that long, but I have no experience here. Thoughts? Thank you!

I don’t specifically have experience with this, but I do know that placing two very recently bonded guinea pigs in a small space is not a good idea.

As long as he is kept at a comfortable temperature in his carrier, has plenty of hay and or fleeces to bury himself in, and no one makes too much noise around him, he should be fine. They are fairly robust little creatures.

Depending upon where he’s coming from, perhaps you could take a piece of fabric or some used hay from his old cage just to travel with him in the box so that it smells like his territory.

I don’t specifically have experience with this, but I do know that placing two very recently bonded guinea pigs in a small space is not a good idea.

As long as he is kept at a comfortable temperature in his carrier, has plenty of hay and or fleeces to bury himself in, and no one makes too much noise around him, he should be fine. They are fairly robust little creatures.

Depending upon where he’s coming from, perhaps you could take a piece of fabric or some used hay from his old cage just to travel with him in the box so that it smells like his territory.