Teeth Chattering

ccowell27

New Born Pup
Reaction score
Hello all,
I am new to guinea pigs as they were purchased for my daughter ( a massive animal lover and they could not have had a better owner :) ) However this morning she was cleaning up the cage before school and notice one of our male guineas was chattering his teeth at the other. The one chattering his teeth was in the corner of the tank while the other was standing in the entry way to there hut. He seemed to be submissive almost bowing to the other. However he would not get out of the entry way of the hut and at one point they were both in the hut with chins raised. I'm am very unsure how to proceed for the best outcome. My daughter is only 7 and is completely in love. I would greatly appreciate the guidance and the best way to proceed. I have never noticed an issue before. We have owned the boys (Bob and Walter) for about a month now. I am unsure how long they lived at the pet store before we had them. We had to leave the house to get her to school and myself to work. I am a little nervous about what I will come home to. Please help we love our boys!

Welcome to the forum

The key with boars, and presumably yours are under a year old so are likely teen boars at that, is space, and giving them no reason to fall out.

This means that their cage should be 180x60cm to ensure they have enough territory each - boars are more territorial and need more room. Lack of space can cause problems.

You also need to make sure that all hidey houses have two doors. If a hide only has one door, then there is a real risk, as you have found, of the only exit being blocked. This is then a flashpoint and can cause fights.