• Discussions taking place within this forum are intended for the purpose of assisting you in discussing options with your vet. Any other use of advice given here is done so at your risk, is solely your responsibility and not that of this forum or its owner. Before posting it is your responsibility you abide by this Statement

Special diet help

Sarah182

New Born Pup
Reaction score
Hi,

I'm new to this whole forum thing so apologies if I'm posting in the wrong place or anything.

We rescued a lovely boy, Pongo, just over a week ago and unfortunately subsequently found out he had a significant kidney stone.
He went for surgery and had the kidney removed and is now recovering.
We're trying to get our head around his new dietary needs and it's a learning curve for sure. We've seen tonnes of advice saying their nuggets should be 0.3% calcium but can't find any that are actually that low (the lowest we've found is either 0.5% or 0.3-0.8 which obviously means they fluctuate which is no good) their normal food is 0.6%.
We're also concerned because he's underweight so needs to bulk up a bit but most of the fresh food that's low calcium seems low calorie too (or high sugar so they can't have too much). Usually for underweight guys we'd supplement with some alfalfa but need to avoid that because of the calcium content too.

He had a bad couple of years before coming to us and his remaining kidney already has some sediment in so we just want him to be as strong as possible so that he can live out whatever time he has left (hopefully lots!) as happily and healthily as possible.

Do you wonderful people have any advice?

Thanks

Hello and welcome 😊

I'm sorry your boy Pongo has kidney issues. I don't have much experience with this, but maybe instead of trying to find really low calcium pellets, you could just limit them? Pellets should be limited to one tablespoon per piggy per day.

This is a helpful chart created by one of our lovely members:
Nugget Comparison Chart