Soon-to-be Owner Looking For Pairing Advice

How to pair?

• Total voters
Status
Not open for further replies.

Kate187

Junior Guinea Pig
Reaction score
Hi! I'm new on here, my name is Kate and I'm a 24 year old teacher currently living in the West Midlands.

I've had loads of animals through the years, dogs, cats, rabbits, hamsters, fish, guins! Our dog and rabbit live at my parents house near Liverpool and my hammy passed a few months ago. I'm looking to get a pair of guins. We had them when I was a child and I've been doing lots of research into looking after them.

The problem I'm having is choosing whether to have a m/m, f/f or mixed sex pair. I was drawn to getting 2 boars as I've heard they can be more relaxed and cuddly, which is more what I'm looking for! However I would be concerned about a falling out later on. I don't have the space or resources to keep them in separate cages which would mean having to give up one of the pigs. I really don't want to risk this!

I'd love to get a mixed-sex pair but this raises the issue of neutering. I was thinking of possibly getting a slightly older male (say a year old) and neutering, before getting a female companion. Are there many risks associated with neutering? How long do you have to wait before introducing a companion?

Or is it safer to get a f/f pair?

I've been reading the forums but chasing my tail with this one. Does anyone have any advice?

Hi Kate, Welcome to the forum. We are from Wolves, which part of WM are you from? Your well placed for piggy vets, there are some great ones in the West Mids area.