Smokey/Meringue bonding thread

Freya1234

Teenage Guinea Pig
Reaction score
Hi all,
I’m just going to use this for any advice while I bond Smokey (my 6 year old boar) with Meringue* (new pig, around 1 year). This is my first time doing bonding but I will be using the very helpful guides!

Meringue got home about an hour ago and they are currently in a side by side cage, Smokey hasn’t showed a whole lot of interest other than a few sniffs but meringue is chewing and tugging at the divider, is this normal behaviour or does that suggest he may be hostile in the bonding?
*temporary name from the rescue!

Hi all,
I’m just going to use this for any advice while I bond Smokey (my 6 year old boar) with Meringue* (new pig, around 1 year). This is my first time doing bonding but I will be using the very helpful guides!

Meringue got home about an hour ago and they are currently in a side by side cage, Smokey hasn’t showed a whole lot of interest other than a few sniffs but meringue is chewing and tugging at the divider, is this normal behaviour or does that suggest he may be hostile in the bonding?
*temporary name from the rescue!

Hi

It's difficult to say at this stage. Meringue sounds like a normal teenage/young adult boar. Give them a little more time.

I think we’re going to try the bonding tomorrow, meringue has settled in nicely and I think the interaction through the bars has been quite normal. Meringue has rumblestrutted along the divide a little bit and has been chewing the bars, Smokey has for the most part been ignoring meringue except for the few times he’s gone up to him to sniff his nose. Keeping my fingers crossed for a successful bond tomorrow! 🤞🏽