Should I continue with sow/boar bonding attempt?

FrenchFan

New Born Pup
Reaction score
Hi all, this is my first time posting but I've appreciated the advice on this forum for a while now, particularly the bonding and behaviour guides; now I'd like to ask for some advice on a specific situation that I can't see covered. I'm attempting to bond my bereaved girl Gloria (2yrs 9mths) with rescue boy Bobby (1yr 9mths) and we're just at the end of week one. Bobby has recently been neutered and has another 3 weeks to go to be fully clear, so he and Gloria are currently living side-by-side in separate cages, with separate floor time in the same room. Gloria isn't showing much interest and is hiding away more than usual, while Bobby is very active and seems desperate for her attention. He's constantly jumping up to a shelter roof where he can be next to her and running around her cage during his floor time. Meanwhile she's just going about her routine, perhaps going up onto her shelter roof once a day and briefly sitting next to him while he rumblestruts and chatters away. I'd say she doesn't seem frightened by him, as she will rub noses through the bars if she happens to be nearby, but she doesn't seem to respond to his communication or seek him out at all. I'm worried that the bond won't work when they are allowed to be together, either because she's not interested or is irritated by his attentions. I'm also concerned that his needs are not being met as he obviously wants more interaction than he's getting. Both pigs are eating and drinking OK and wheeking for treats, so I'm not thinking Gloria might be unwell. Should I let the process run and see what happens when they can actually be together, or call time now and let them find more suitable companions? I've never had to return a rescue before and my heart would break as Bobby is such a lovely boy, but I don't want either of them to be unhappy.

Welcome to the forum