Questions About Getting A Companion For My Guinea Pig

Status
Not open for further replies.

Malyssaasaurus

Junior Guinea Pig
Reaction score
I have a 3 year old boar that I adopted a week ago. I have a 2x3 c & c cage. He is in need of a companion. He hasn't been neutered though. I was wondering if I were to get a sow would she need to be spayed as well as having the boar neutered? As adorable as the babies are, I'm not experienced enough or have the room for little baby guinea pigs. XD

The pet store that I go to regularly is an independently owned store that is older than I am. Very trustworthy place. They get their guinea pigs from a local breeder who is very experienced and loves on the babies as much as possible before sending them to the store to be sold. I'm hoping to get one once they're old enough. Coming from a breeder that means they won't be spayed or neutered. Which comes back to the question of do they both need to be fixed?

Thanks in advance for the help! :D

Your c and c needs to be a minimum of 4 by 2. Were there no piggies in the shelter? By getting a guinea pig from a pet shop there is a risk of the guinea pig being pregnant,sick or wrongly sexed. If you wanted a sow you would need to get your boar neutered. Spaying a sow is a risky operation and usually only done for health reasons.

I'll make the c & c bigger, that's no problem. :) There's only 1 sow at my local shelter and apparently she's a little stinker and just can't find anyone to live with. They've tried to pair her with several boars and sows and she just won't have it.

Neutering is costs much less than spaying any way so that's good news. As for the breeder the store gets them from she's reputable and been doing it for 20 years. I've been looking all over at other shelters and can't find any guinea pigs. I could wait and check these places again but I just don't want him to be alone for long. I'm in a bit of a sticky situation right now.