Pros and cons of pups vs. rehoming

stickytoffee

New Born Pup
Reaction score
I'm a newbie and still looking to get our piggies. Can anyone tell me the pros and cons of getting a pups vs. rehoming adults pigs please? Specifically, two 18 month old sows that have recently both had litters. Thanks.

We are a rescue friendly forum so we will always advise you to go to a rescue centre and adopt.
There are many pigs in rescue who need good homes.

If you adopt from a rescue you can be sure of a good compatible bond and piggies who actually like each other and want to be together, that they are are properly vet checked and confirmed healthy and that they are properly sexed. Plus long term support from the rescue centre.

If you buy piggies either from a breeder, privately or from a shop there are several issues you may face.

As babies the piggies will get on but you won’t know if they are actually compatible until they get to their teens. Sadly sometimes a bond breaks when the hormones kick in and the piggies get their own ideas and decide they just don’t like each other. In that case they would need to be separated and live side by side. That isn’t always an issue but if space is a worry and you can’t provide two cages then risking a fall out is not something you want to do!
In the case of baby sows, if there were any boars in the litter it they were not separated properly at the right time then you risk finding your sows are actually pregnant a few weeks after you bring them home, and then dealing with the issues that brings.
They can bring in illnesses that you won’t have any way of recompense for particularly if you get from a private home.
They may be incorrectly sexed. You would have to check for yourself

If you are prepared for the risks then where you get them is up to you, but we would always encourage you to go to a rescue centre