Potty Training

Status
Not open for further replies.

MamaPiggy

Junior Guinea Pig
Reaction score
For my birthday I got two young male guinea pigs. I have a huge cage for them, that they are currently in, and it takes up a lot of bedding. Some people have fleece at the bottom of the cage instead of bedding, fleece would be less money being spent, and more comfy. So I decided that I will Potty train them, But it is not working out. Any tips?:ple:

Last edited:
Good luck with that ;). I've been keeping piggies for over 17 years and never managed to litter train them! I have just one of my piggies who doesn't wee and poo in his bed, but the others have resolutely defied me to wee and poo wherever they want!:mal:

Wow, but I will still try because of my stubborn personallity. :lol: But thanks

@MamaPiggy if you succeed please tell me the secret of your success as I have litter trained/potty/house trained children, dogs, cats, an African Grey parrot, hamsters and rabbits but the piggies have (so far) beaten me

I will, if I figure out the secret, the world must know!:))

The closest thing I've heard of on this forum is those who have fleece but have a small area (tray) with sawdust and/or hay on it who have noticed their piggies tending to use that area more often as the toilet.

I don't have any personal expertise as I only tried fleece once for 3 days (I only gave up as I didn't have time to do things like cut the fleece to size or wash it a few times so that it wicks properly - due to washing machine already permanently on with nappies and children's clothes!) but when I am ready to go again with fleece I will just be happy if most get done in one area. I expect I will still have to pick up poops from the fleecy areas.

I think I will try sawdust trays in each corner of the cage as I've noticed my piggies poop far more in the corners of their outdoor run than anywhere else in it.