Potty No Zone

Frogtoad

New Born Pup
Reaction score
Hey folks,

I'm new to having baby piggies, as my old guinea pig was given to me and was trained from the first day I had her.

I have 4 pigs, all under 6 months old, living in a 9x2 c&c cage with a 2x2 hay loft. One of my guinea pigs has managed to learn to go to the bathroom in the corner potty but... the other 3 just don't get it or care.

See, the problem is that the other 3 have decided that the ramp between the 1St floor and the hayloft is where they want to go to the bathroom, which is frustrating because it's the only area of the cage not lined with a fleece pad. The ramp consists of a bottom tray made from coroplast, and turned into a tunnel isinglass excess curved cage squares so they can't fall off.

It's making things difficult, and I'm not sure the solution. I cleaned the ramp very thoroughly, with vinegar to eliminate scent. But not ten minutes after they were pooping and peeing on the ramp again.

Without a liner to absorb the urine, it's resulting in rather gross and unsightly messes inside the ramp.

Is there any way to deter my piggies from peeing there?

very few piggies are anywhere near what can be defined as " potty trained ". - they tend to pee and poo where they eat so ......I am wondering if having the upper level as their hay loft is exacerbating this problem .

Would you consider changing your hay area - maybe having a hay tray on the lower level ?

I have 13 in 4 groups and all pee and poo where they are cosiest! That means in their hay covered fleece bedding areas! They have snugglesafes in each too so they are always yuk!
That's piggies!

Hi & welcome to our friendly forum.
Ours go where they want to as well. I think you have to remember that they won't do what you would like. They do what they want. Training piggies is very very rare.
All you can do is go with the flow & work round them.
How about photos please