Potential new owner questions

WRgymrat

New Born Pup
Reaction score
Hi I’m a uni student thinking about getting a Guinea pig. I only come home at weekends though and my mum works 9-5. Is letting them out only in the evening during weekdays ok? Or is that cruel and they need out more? (Obviously id get them a big enclosure)
Also if I got them when I was home for 6 months but then went back to uni would they not bond that well with me?
Thanks

It's great you are doing your research in advance.

As long as they have a large enclosure and you get a pair of piggies they will be fine being left alone during the day.
A large cage will also mean you can get away with daily poop picks and a full clean only once a week, which should fit your schedule.

You might find out new owner guides helpful:
New Owners' Most Helpful How-To Guides and Information

If you are a round on a regular basis then your piggies will bond with you.
A lot of us work long hours and still have a great relationship with our guinea pigs.

Hi I’m a uni student thinking about getting a Guinea pig. I only come home at weekends though and my mum works 9-5. Is letting them out only in the evening during weekdays ok? Or is that cruel and they need out more? (Obviously id get them a big enclosure)
Also if I got them when I was home for 6 months but then went back to uni would they not bond that well with me?
Thanks

Hi and welcome

It is great that you are doing your research beforehand.