Please Help! My New Guinea Pigs Dont Seem To Get On

Status
Not open for further replies.

Louise1473

New Born Pup
Reaction score
I got my 2 sows a week ago. They are about 18 months and were previously together in a larger group. For the first few days they kept arguing over food, and now the braver of the 2 has permanantly moved to the downstairs of their hutch! They dont seem to be making any contact with each other. I have had to put food & bedding downstairs as she wont go up at all. The more nervous guinea pig upstairs is just sitting in the corner of the dark bedroom, and only comes out to eat then goes straight back. She looks depressed. I am new to guinea pigs and dont know if this is normal behaviour or if I should be worried? Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

They may be scared of going up / down ramp? Have you tried putting them together again on one level?

Hi, yes i've tried putting them back together, but snowflake (the brave one) just goes back downstairs again. She is very capable of doing the ramp. I think fluffy (the nervous one upstairs) is scared of the ramp, but putting her downstairs seems to make her more nervous and she just hides in a corner!

I would look into maybe getting a ramp tunnel that way they can come up and down more safely and your shy pig can have the extra security to help her brave the ramp.

Thank you, I didnt know you could get them (I'm new to this!) I will have a look for one. I cant see the pictures but i'll google it :-)

You can get them on ebay and from places that sell cuddle cups etc.. with you only having them 2 weeks they are still getting used to their new home so they are biund to still be a bit scared!