• Discussions taking place within this forum are intended for the purpose of assisting you in discussing options with your vet. Any other use of advice given here is done so at your risk, is solely your responsibility and not that of this forum or its owner. Before posting it is your responsibility you abide by this Statement

piggie not eating veg

• Thread starter Thread starter cgibson
  • Start date Start date
Status
Not open for further replies.
C

cgibson

hi,
My piggie loves his veg, but not recently, he seems to have gone off it. He will still eat hay and grass though.

He used to drink a lot of water but i havent seen him drink any for a couple of days. I have a big cardboard tunnell in the cage and he would rather eat that than his veg.

The other piggie has stared to pick on him, so just wondering if that could be the trouble.

if anybody has any ideas, please let me know as i am new to this.

thanks
carol

Welcome to the forum :)

Piggies get most of their water through their fresh fruit and veg, so if he doesn't drink as often then it's no problem.

You said that he gets picked on, could it be that he is taking all of the food?

Or maybe he has just gone off his usual food and needs a change? No other signs or symptoms of illness?

Good luck, hope to hear more soon :)

thanks for replying to me.

I have been giving him the same veg twice a day.
He used to stand on his back legs when he heard me coming to feed him, he loved cucumber but is not bothered now.
think i will just give them grass and hay for a couple of days and see what happens.

Is that a good idea.
he has no other signs of illness, apart from his eyes look a bit cloudy, could this be cataracts, he is 4 years old.

than you

maybe he is bored with his veg? Piggies can be very picky, mine are. Try something he hasnt had before maybe? Have a look at the guinea pig shopping list under food. It is a comprehensive list of all the things they can have O0