Pig Health Anxiety

PiggyPack

Forum Donator 2023/24
Reaction score
Hi Guys!

I just wanted to get you guy’s opinion on some stuff I’ve been dealing with.

Some of you may know I’ve had some scares with bloat in two of my guinea pigs. Bea is now permanently on gut meds and Mouse has the occasional flare up as they’re beginning to age. I’ve been fighting bloat in both of them for about 4 months now and I’m so exhausted. Just when I think it’s all settled down, suddenly you see those dreaded stringy poops or a sneeze and I’ve got to give 0.2ml of Emeprid again. Meep has also recently has an awful case of hay poke, she’s on her last day of eye drops today but taking the hay out of her bloody eye was so frightening. I just feel like I can’t win the constant battle with their health and I’m so on edge.

I just wanted to talk to you guys about my piggy health anxiety. I have really been struggling recently not to obsess over them, weighing them probably more than I should, constantly checking their poops, panicking if I hear a sneeze. Wearing face masks all the time because I dread of them catching anything from me. It’s just become obsessive and I’m so anxious everytime I go over to their cage. I’m constantly having irrational thoughts about them dying and it’s really just making me feel so run down and I’m just really struggling.

I’m aware this forum’s staff and users aren’t therapists lol, but I just don’t know who else would understand. If you tell this to someone who truly doesn’t know how to care for guinea pigs, they will just roll their eyes at you.

I’d really like some advice on some strategies to cope as I’m really starting to panic and it’s taking over my life a bit.

Thank you!

Mouse has just done three slightly stringy, very slightly tear shaped poops and I’m already on the verge of tears. All I want is for them to be happy and healthy and live as long as they can. I’m putting every ounce of energy I have in to their care and it’s just so exhausting.