Old Guinea pigs fighting since introduce two new

Newguineapigmum

New Born Pup
Reaction score
Hi guys I need some advice I’m new to owning Guinea pigs, I got my first pair at the end of March when they were 7wks everything was fine and they got on great. Last week I decided to get another two who were 8wks and ensured they were in a separate cage to our original two (Rocket and Rory). Just for context all 4 are male which I was assure by pets at home where I bought all 4 from would not be an issue. After a couple of days we introduced them all outside of their cages together and everything seemed to be going okay, Rocket and Rory were asserting their dominance by shaking there bums and getting on top of the new two (Dobby and Dexter). That night Rocket and Rory spent all night bitting and rattling their cage, I thought nothing of it and thought they might just be bored so tried to provide them with more toys and hay … this did not work. The next day when they all had floor time Rocket and Rory began chattering their teeth at one another and looking as if they were going to fight but it did not end physical. That night in their cage they began fighting and chattered their teeth at one another all night. When it was next time for floor time I noticed Rory had a scratch on his nose, this floor time is where it all went down hill. Rocket and Rory kept lunging at each other and fighting really bad at one point Rocket caught Rory’s mouth leading to another scratch, at this point I decided they needed to be separated. The difficult thing is that neither of them are clearly instigating the fights so it was hard to choose who to have in a cage alone. As Rocket had created a stronger bond with Dobby and Dexter we decided Rory would have some time alone and we would introduce Rocket into the other cage. It’s now been 3 days since they were separated and they are still chattering their teeth at each other through the cages, I know if I leave it too long to reintroduce them it