• Discussions taking place within this forum are intended for the purpose of assisting you in discussing options with your vet. Any other use of advice given here is done so at your risk, is solely your responsibility and not that of this forum or its owner. Before posting it is your responsibility you abide by this Statement

Nursing Pig with Mites and Urine Scald

WheeksforWeeks

New Born Pup
Reaction score
Hello, first post here. This is in regards to my newest pig, Faye. We found Faye on Gumtree, she was well into her pregnancy and her other cagemates were picking on her so the owners decided to sell her. I have been keeping piggies for twelve years and have bought in plenty of pregnant pigs so I thought I knew what I was getting myself into.
When we picked her up, she seemed in good condition, obviously a couple bites from the other herd members, though definitely well under way in her pregnancy. We bought her home and put her in quarantine apart from my other pigs to keep an eye on her. I did notice that she was quite big. I knew my other pigs were small despite being 2 years old, but Faye was the same size as the rest of them. If you didn’t know, female pigs can’t give birth if they are over a year old.
About a day after we bought Faye home, I noticed she had stopped using her back legs. I was concerned, but after a quick check on these forums (Thanks, guys!) it’s supposedly normal. I knew Urine Scalds were a possibility so every hour I would check in on her and move her around to stop her lying in her own feces. After all of this though, her fur started to stain and patches would fall out. This was mainly around her back legs. Two days ago, one day before she gave birth, I gave her her first bath (No shampoos or anything, just warm water). She took it like a champ and almost seemed relieved. The redness and irritation died down and we all got a good nights rest.