• Discussions taking place within this forum are intended for the purpose of assisting you in discussing options with your vet. Any other use of advice given here is done so at your risk, is solely your responsibility and not that of this forum or its owner. Before posting it is your responsibility you abide by this Statement

New to GPs

• Thread starter Thread starter Manse
  • Start date Start date
Status
Not open for further replies.
M

Manse

Hello everyone!

I brought home two lovelies two days ago, one Abyssinian (4mths) and one short-haired (1year). I think they're beginning to get used to their surroundings even though the little one is still pretty shy around people. I'm completely new to the practical aspect of Guinea Pig care so I've got a couple of questions I hope you guys could help me with.

First, is scratching normal? I used to have hamsters and they scratched all the time, but I'm not sure if GP-scratching indicates fungal growth/lice/mites. If a little scratching is normal, how much scratching is too much? I live in a horribly humid place (Singapore - 1 degree North of the Equator) so I'm worried about my GPs getting skin infections.

Second, I'm not sure how much food I'm supposed to be feeding them. I've been replenishing the food bowl and the hay as and when they finish (that's like, three times a day!), but I'm not sure if doing so makes them overeat? How many times do you guys feed your GPs each day?

I think the humidity is a problem because they love being dry, you could try finding a low noise dehumidifier to get rid of the moisture.

They should always have hay to wear down their teeth. I used to give them food 3 times a day, but now I fill it to the top because there's always half of it left at the end of the day anyway so it's easier.

You can check around the eyes of the short haired piggy because you're more likely to see any mites/lice crawling around there if they have any

xx
have fun with year new piggies