New Piggie Pair- And So Many Questions!

Status
Not open for further replies.

lglithero

New Born Pup
Reaction score
Hi, I am new to owning piggies- I have just adopted a pair at the weekend from Tameside Rabbit and Guinea Pig rescue after much research and contemplation! I have a smooth and a curly haired pig, who are as yet still nameless!

They are lovely but still quite timid, which is to be expected. At the moment I have quite a few worries including -
- The piggies have gone to different levels of the hutch and don't seem to be interacting much. I would have thought they would feel more safe if they were snuggling up? To be honest I am a bit worried that the curly haired pig can't traverse the ramp at all!
- The smooth haired piggy had soft poops yesterday, which has improved today with me reducing his watery veg. However, he has got quite dirty in his fur and paws. I would like to bath him to get rid off the poopy patches but will this be too traumatic for a new pig? Should I just leave him to it for now?
- Should I get the piggies out for some exercise time? They don't like it when I go near them (even with treats!) and the curly haired pig in particular just looks terrified. Am I best leaving it for a couple more days before I attempt this?

Thanks in advance for your help. The forum seems like a really lovely community. I will try and post some pictures when they are a bit more used to me!

Laura :)

Hi there! How lovely to have 2 new additions to the family - are they boys or girls or both?

I'm no expert but with regards to the ramp, some piggies do have trouble knowing how to use it at first. See this thread for tips http://www.theguineapigforum.co.uk/threads/need-help-with-the-ramp.116560/#post-1578902