New guinea pig owner with an odd situation....advice welcome!

courtasaurus

New Born Pup
Reaction score
Hey everyone,

So I've recently become a guinea pig owner (kind of) through odd circumstances... I'm an elementary school teacher. Before Winter Break, one of the kindergarten teachers asked me if I could take care of her classroom pet for her over the Winter Break because she knows I love animals. I said yes of course, which is how I ended up with Donald the skinny pig for two weeks. I knew almost nothing about guinea pigs, but I've always loved little rodenty type pets and had pet rats in university that I ADORED, so I knew a little bit about guinea pigs from the obsessive amount of research that I did for my rats.

Now because I'm the kind of person who always wants to give the absolute best care to any animal I have in my home, I immediately researching guinea pigs. I very quickly realized that this kindergarten teacher, although well intentioned, knows nothing about guinea pig care. His cage is way too small, his diet is completely out of wack, and he lives alone. During Winter Break I cut back on his pellets (she was giving him unlimited pellets) and gave him LOTS of hay (she fed it to him 'as a treat'), plus nice fresh veggies everyday. I'd take him out of his cage almost everyday to hang out with me, and he really came out of his shell and became a super interactive, curious, chipper little guy. She had told me he was super shy and didn't like people, but he started coming to the cage door making little squeaking noises whenever he heard me talking to him.