Nervous About Cutting Nails

playingdead

Junior Guinea Pig
Reaction score
Hello! I've been researching guinea pigs for a few months and finally brought home my first one today. (planning to find him a friend as soon as possible) He was being rehomed on craigslist, his cage was big and he had plenty of food and was obviously loved, but there were some care factors that were obviously neglected. Mainly, his nails. I don't think they've ever been cut before. They are INSANELY long, and his front feet they are curling in different directions. I've never owned a guinea pig before, so can someone please give me some good advice? Will regular nail clippers work or do I need to invest in something else?

I've included some pictures to try and show how long and the state of his nails currently.
Outlined it in red, since the lighting didn't really show the curve of the nail.
x5yN0KC.png

z5dZcQN.png

Hello,

welcoem to the forum. Those nails really need attending to and if inexperienced are going to be difficult to do. I would advise getting a vet involved on this case

In your first photo is that a front paw or back. I am pleased he has found such a caring owner as yourself who is going to help him

Clippers like this are the best

But honestly because nail clipping is difficult at best of times i would get a bvet to show you how. Guinea Pigs nails have a quick with a blood supply so you have to take a little off being very careful.
Guinea Lynx :: Nail Clipping

Is this a curled under nail?
upload_2017-12-20_9-13-7.webp

Some gnarly nails, but beautiful piggy :love: I love grey piggies if you couldn’t tell haha.

I cut my piggies nails with regular human nail clippers, I don’t see a difference in piggy clippers but I guess it’s about preference. One of my piggies has these naturally red nails and it’s nearly impossiable to see his quick. I shine my phone flashlight at an angle so I can see the quick better, and it helps me feel more confident when I clip his nails.