Need help, new to this

Hadi

New Born Pup
Reaction score
Hi everyone !

I'm currently in the process of purchasing everything to be ready to adopt guinea pigs.

I have purchased a c and c cage that comes with a polyester vet bed as bedding.

The product advises to use a layer of newspaper under the vet bed and it says that the guinea pigs can go straight onto the vet bed.
Is this true? Or do i need another layer of some sort of bedding on top of the polyester?

I'm relatively new to the world of reusable bedding but this is my experience so far :)

Assuming we are using the same bedding, the Vetbed I use doesn't need anything on the top. It looks really comfortable on their feet!

I wouldn't use just newspaper underneath though - Vetbed is great at letting moisture through, which is great on the way down but does mean it can come back up if what's underneath is saturated. I've opted for reusable puppy pads which are changed every couple of days and this seems to work quite well :)

Sorry, tried to edit but ran out of time!

I just spotted that you're planning on using your garage. I'm sure someone with specific experience can advise you better on garage piggies, but I am aware that fabric bedding is not recommended for outdoor pigs as it can take on moisture from the air and become cold and damp - not something you want to sleep on! I'm assuming this space is well insulated and not damp, though?

@poggle thanks for the reply, the puppy pads sounds like an awesome idea.
The garage is well insulated and not damp (i think) lol, i guess i’ll keep an eye and see if the vetbed is getting damp for no reason, it shouldn't though.

If it’s the same thing as here, then vetbed needs an absorbent layer underneath it - puppy pads etc - but it doesn’t need anything on top of it. It’s nice bedding. I used to use it but not so much now. As it’s bulky it had to be cut into lots of little pieces because my washing machine did not like it one bit.