Need help/advice

moosepistachiooreo

New Born Pup
Reaction score
I have two guinea pigs right now, they are both teenagers and they do not get along and lunge at each other when they are put together. they are in a separated cage at the moment. I am debating on getting more guinea pigs soon, if I put them all together (including the two that don't get along), will those two still continuously fight. I really just want them to have cage mates they can actually be around, I was thinking maybe they could just tolerate each other? Let me know please!

if there are actual bites that are leaving wounds then separating is the best, but maybe this could be dominance behavior? But then again you said they are lunging at each other? If that is the case they are both not backing down and that can lead to actual bites. But I am new to guinea pigs myself, there are tons of more knowledgeable people on this forum that will have tons of advice for you, it’s just that this is a UK based forum so different time zones, they will be around soon. Hope you get some help soon ☺️

Welcome to the forum!

Your guinea pigs are probably boars?
Unfortunately if piggies don't get along, a bigger group won't help much. It can do a bit of good with females, but not with boars.

In Austria (where I live) I would give the advice to neuter both boys and get them a girl each, but I know that it can be harder to find a good vet to neuter boys in the US.

I'm sure that there will be members around soon who have got more experience with boars.

I have had success in rebonding boars
Its not generally recommend but if your like me and don't have alot of options then its worth a shot

Your options could be to
Wait until there a little older and attempt a rebond
Get them each another friend of same gender
Neuter them both and get them each another friend
or surrender one to a rescue and adopt a new friend for the other

H!