My Herbie's noises can someone help me please

• Thread starter Thread starter shard25
  • Start date Start date
Status
Not open for further replies.
S

shard25

I have owned a lovely guinea pig called Herbie for about 7-8 months now and he is a lovely little guy (well he is quite big really but I call him little.) Anyway I have never owned a guinea pig before and this is my first time. I got him when I found him in my parents back garden as he seems to have been dumped in there, so I took him home and I love him very much. What I want to ask is about their noises as I don't always understand what he wants by the way he squeaks at me. I know the one for 'come on mum where's my breakfast/dinner' but he also makes noises that are a bit high pitched sometimes if I leave the room he will make them. Or he does this thing with his teeth or when he is lying on me he will make this sweet noise not like a purr more of a cute rumble? I would love to know if I'm treating him right as he gets spoiled by me and I don't know if he is happy on his own as my other half knows I havent really got a lot of room (Herbie is an indoor guinea pig who gets the run of my flat) Any help would be great as I just don't know if I'm doing it right.

He gets fed (I think a bit too much) twice a day, he comes out for a run around a couple of hours a day, I pick him up and love him (sometimes when he is in his own towel on my lap he will lie on his side and go to sleep on me) But I would love ANY help you can all give me.

Also would someone please tell me how I can put a picture up of him please as i would love you all to see my gorgeous little guinea pig.

Thank you for all your help in advance

Sarah and Herbie

Hiya, welcome to the forum!