• Discussions taking place within this forum are intended for the purpose of assisting you in discussing options with your vet. Any other use of advice given here is done so at your risk, is solely your responsibility and not that of this forum or its owner. Before posting it is your responsibility you abide by this Statement

My guinea pig squeals while pooping!?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Reaction score
hi everyone! this is my first time here so i dont know how everything works yet but anyways...
my guinea pig Sookie<3 was bought from this pet store. i dont think the pet store took care of their animals that much because when i brought her home i noticed she was balding. i called the pet store and they were like ooh dont worry you just need to give her vitamin c. so i did and she looked happier because the pet store gave them no fruits/veggies and never refilled their hay. but the balding was still there so i took her to the vet and yes. she had mites. so i paid for the treatment and hopefully the mites wont come back! so i thought i was done with health problems but she started squealing while pooping, or trying to poop. the vet said she might be constipated (i felt her poop and it mushed right through) so is there any thing i could do for her so she can get better?

Hi there and welcome to the forum.

Lots of good hay and plenty to drink help with constipation however squeaking when pooing or peeing can be a sign of bladder stones and it's important to have your piggy seen by a cavy savvy vet to determine whether this is the problem, sooner rather than later. Once you have a diagnosis there will be a lot of support coming your way from the forum.

This is a list of vets in CA - hopefully one of them is close enough to you.

http://www.guinealynx.info/cabinet/index.php/Veterinarians_California

Do keep us updated, and when you can, a few pics of your piggy would be great.

Suzy x