My Guinea Pig Just Bit Me......... Hard

• Thread starter Thread starter guineafriend
  • Start date Start date
Status
Not open for further replies.
G

guineafriend

:police:
There were no other signs of aggression, he wasn't being threatened, he was in his run, wheeking as usual, I put my hand in and stroked his back, he was fine but then turned his head and bit down. Luckily he got my ring rather than my finger, but it was a proper bite, not a nip, >:D I pulled my hand up and he was held on, my boyfriend grabbed him around his waist and backside like normal and he let go.

What happened? :o

ooooOOOOooo have you picked him up and let him know you have the last word?

and are you ok, its scary when it happens, keep us posted on how you get on! maybe you made him jump?

Ouch! Sounds painful - or it could have been but for your ring!

I am not sure how to explain it - I am very new to piggies but I am sure there must be some reason. Are you sure he wasn't frightened by something? Maybe he had piggie PMT (male variety?) lol

Hope you are ok and things are fine between you!

I think it pobably associated your hand coming in as time to leave and maybe it wanted to stay a bit longer...some pigs are very stubborn and like to dig their heels, or in this case teeth, in about such things

ouch , maybe he has mites ? Or was scared when you went to pick him up?

ive only had little nips - ive seen those big fangs and i bet it hurt :o :'(

My pigs bite if I put my hand in their cage. Generally they have a good sniff and then just tend to chomp down in case it tastes nice!

When my boar was a baby he did tend to bite incessantly when picked up but he has calmed down a lot now and doesn't anymore. I think if he wasn't being held or interfered with it may have just been a misunderstanding.