• Discussions taking place within this forum are intended for the purpose of assisting you in discussing options with your vet. Any other use of advice given here is done so at your risk, is solely your responsibility and not that of this forum or its owner. Before posting it is your responsibility you abide by this Statement

looking after boars

• Thread starter Thread starter piggymummy
  • Start date Start date
Status
Not open for further replies.
P

piggymummy

i'm quite new to looking after boars, and need some advice on keeping my harry clean and comfortable.

i am surprised at how smelly he is around his bottom, is this normal? and i find i am cleaning around that area regularly but it always seems to be mucky again when i go back and check. :-\ he doesnt mind me cleaning him but would love some good advice from anybody with experience on the best ways to do this and how often it is necessary. i dont mind doing it often and harry is a good boy and allows me to, so just wanted some help from you guys on how best to help him out!

thanks in advance, sam and harry x

My boars are never really smelly.. Could it be that their grease gland needs a clean or they are a bit impacted?

kellyandpiggies♥ said:
My boars are never really smelly.. Could it be that their grease gland needs a clean or they are a bit impacted?

My boars are never really smelly either. I don't do anything special just empty them out when they need it, keep their environment clean and clean their/ around their bottoms. O0

what do you mean 'empty them out' sorry might b being a bit thick? 98) and how often do you find they need their bottoms cleaning?