• Discussions taking place within this forum are intended for the purpose of assisting you in discussing options with your vet. Any other use of advice given here is done so at your risk, is solely your responsibility and not that of this forum or its owner. Before posting it is your responsibility you abide by this Statement

Itchy, Scabby and Bald Patches

• Thread starter Thread starter thefantasicfour
  • Start date Start date
Status
Not open for further replies.
T

thefantasicfour

Hello! I am new to all this so please bear with me! (yes and i have mis-spelt my user name so if anyone knows how I can change this please let me know!)

My Boy Guinea, Mixi is a tad poorly. :'( He has small circular patches of hair missing with red patches or scabs. He has been scratching some of them as I found quite a deep cut on his back. I have bathed him and stopped using hay as bedding but he is still getting more and more patches and scabs, mainly at his back end. He seems fine in himself, still nosey and scoffs anything i put in front of him. Its the first time I have had a poorly guinea pig so would be grateful for any help. He is housed outside in a cage but I live in Spain so the temperature is not too cold.

its sound like ring worm which is catching, but others on here are more wise than I, hopefully someone like Karen will answer she is knowledgeable,

Oh and hi welcome to the forum, I am Emma

It may be ringworm, or it may be mites. You need a vet either way. If it is mites they will prescribe ivomec (I think). I hope somebody more knowledgable comes along soon and helps you!

It sounds like mites, first and foremost. Your piggy is likely to be in a lot of pain so I would get him to the vet as soon as possible. Remember that he needs hay to eat all the time. Read about mites here - http://www.guinealynx.com/mites.html

It could also be a number of things, like a fungal infection as mentioned above, which is why it's important to have him checked out.