How long can I wait to get another piggy?

Shama

New Born Pup
Reaction score
this is my first post here.. long time lurker.

I'm relatively new to being a piggy parent, a couple years ago my neighbor came to my door asking me to take some piggies, and at first my plan was to foster but i fell in love with the two baby boars.
We named them Zayne and Broly.
They were brothers and really extremely bonded. Very few issues with puberty and everything. Zayne was the more dominant boar but they were gentle. Never really had a fight more than maybe jumping on each other or pushing one another out of the way for a special treat.

A couple days ago they stopped eating. I gave them critical care and set a vet appointment.
Zayne died last night at the vet, he had kidney failure. Broly is ok physically, i guess he wasn't eating because he was just so worried about Zayne?

I'm really shook up about this and i can't stop crying about Zayne. I can't imagine how hard this is on Broly. And i really really don't want to think about getting another piggy right now but I'm so scared I'll lose Broly too to loneliness if i don't.

I guess i made this whole account just to ask, how long can i wait usually before i get a new playmate for Broly? Like is it ok if we take some time to grieve? I don't want to feel like I'm Replacing zayne..
And when i do get a friend for him, it should be a baby? Or one the same age? (2.5years)

If someone is willing to hold my hand and walk me through all this it would be greatly appreciated.
I'm just still learning and want to do right by my Broly..

Welcome and I am sorry for your loss.

Of course it’s absolutely fine to take some time to grieve and Broly will likely be ok for a few weeks but you do need to keep an eye on him particularly if he was not eating enough beforehand. Make sure you weigh him daily while you have concerns.

Looking After a Bereaved Guinea Pig
All About Syringe Feeding and Medicating Guinea Pigs with Videos and Pictures