• Discussions taking place within this forum are intended for the purpose of assisting you in discussing options with your vet. Any other use of advice given here is done so at your risk, is solely your responsibility and not that of this forum or its owner. Before posting it is your responsibility you abide by this Statement

Help, my guinea pig is hurt!

• Thread starter Thread starter Aiki
  • Start date Start date
Status
Not open for further replies.
A

Aiki

Hi,

I'm a new guinea pig owner, and I noticed today that my piggy isnt putting any weight on his bottom right foot. When he moves around, that foot is raised up so it doesn't touch the floor, and he just hobbles on 3 legs. I looked at it, to see if anything is wrong with it, but it looks normal. Does anyone know whats wrong with her? I'm really worried and don't want her to be in pain. Please get back to me!

I'm not sure what it could be as I'm new to piggies too. it might be a condition called bumblefoot, I'm really not sure - hopefully someone will be able to help. :)

Does she use the leg at all?
It could be a number of things - the worst a broken bone. Something stuck in her foot. DJD degenerative joint disease - will need anti-inflamatories & pain relief such as Rimadyl. Or possibly if there is swelling the start of Bumblefoot (but doesn't sound like it).
A rescue pig I took in had similar symptoms & my vet thought it was an infection in his foot so gave a dose of anti-biotics. It wasn't that at all - I took him to the CCT (Cambridge Cavy Trust) and he was diagnosed with DJD. I seriously think that she needs to see a vet - & mention all of the things suggest above. Vets aren't taught 'Guinea pigs' & are mostly pretty clueless but should be inteligent enough to diagnose a broken bone from a joint problem. Give the CCT a call first though. The number is at the top of the Health & Illness section.

Hope this helps.