• Discussions taking place within this forum are intended for the purpose of assisting you in discussing options with your vet. Any other use of advice given here is done so at your risk, is solely your responsibility and not that of this forum or its owner. Before posting it is your responsibility you abide by this Statement

Help me please! Guinea Pig keeps squealing.

• Thread starter Thread starter lilsweets3138
  • Start date Start date
Status
Not open for further replies.
L

lilsweets3138

Hi everyone,
I am new to this post and would like to say thankyou to anyone who can help me. My name is Christina and I have a shorthair Guinea Pig,his name is Pogy and he is almost 2 years old. Well recently Pogy has started squealing ALOT and I could not figure out why :(.This has been going on for maybe 3 or 4 days now. Last night I was watching him and noticed that I think he squeals when he pees.Everytime he squealed there would be a tiny tiny wet spot and I checked it out and it seems to look clear. I want to know why is he being like this? What could have caused this? He is a very healthy male guinea pig. What should I do? I know vet bills can be an awful lot so If there are any self remedies I could try first that would be great. Here are also some other things that I noticed him doing that might be helpful in diagnosing his illness. Usually he eats like crazy! But now it seems like all he wants to eat is his Timothy Hay and calcium drops. His food has not been changed or anything like that. Water wise, he usually does drink more then what he has been consuming.He is the only guinea pig I have and is never put around my other pets which is my ferret 'KIKI' .I do not let him run around outside. And I was wondering If this is contagious? Beacause I had a bonemarrow transplant 6 years ago, overall my health is in great condition I just want to be cautious thats all. If you can help me that would be GREAT! Thankyou for reading this.

-Christina

Hi Christina,