Help in how to clean their accessories

naguya

Junior Guinea Pig
Reaction score
Hello!

I am still new to guinea pig world. I have been using some plastic and wood kind accessories and they were easy to clean, but the soft beds/hidings/pillows arrived and came with no instructions how to wash them! I already searched on internet and I got multiple answers on how to clean them.

I know we need to soak them, but for how long and with what product?

Please, help me! 😊

IMG_20240728_185744765_HDR.jpgIMG_20240728_185739717_HDR.jpg

Attachments

• IMG_20240728_185747608_HDR.webp
    IMG_20240728_185747608_HDR.webp
    57 KB · Views: 0
  • IMG_20240728_185741959_HDR.webp
    IMG_20240728_185741959_HDR.webp
    55.1 KB · Views: 0
  • IMG_20240728_185736188_HDR.webp
    IMG_20240728_185736188_HDR.webp
    35.1 KB · Views: 0
I don't soak mine. I wash in a pet blanket wash bag in the machine on 30 or 40. I don't use a hotter wash as it tends to make any padding lumpy! Instead of a very hot wash I use an in wash liquid disinfectant or Nappy San.

I don't soak mine. I wash in a pet blanket wash bag in the machine on 30 or 40. I don't use a hotter wash as it tends to make any padding lumpy! Instead of a very hot wash I use an in wash liquid disinfectant or Nappy San.
Thank you! I also was in a doubt if I could use some disinfectant or not!

I don't know what you have available in Brazil but here we have supermarket own brands or Dettol laundry disinfectant.

I don't know what you have available in Brazil but here we have supermarket own brands or Dettol laundry disinfectant.
Thank you!

We got similar brands in Brazil! Since I am currently out of my home (currently at apartment because of university in another city) I don't have a washing machine yet so I am soaking haha. I just washed it using disinfectant and another liquid to make clothes clean (I made sure it is safe to guinea pigs) and I left 15 minutes soaking. Currently it is drying on the clothesline!