Guinea Pigs Outdoors.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Miss_piggie

Junior Guinea Pig
Reaction score
Hi,I'm kinda new to owning piggies full time (My sister had them when we were kids and now I'm looking after her new ones.)
My question is, what temperatures can guinea pigs withstand out side at night?
My land lord doesn't want them in the house but I'm concerned that it may still be too cold for them. What would I need to put with them so they stay warm throughout the night?

I believe they dont like temps below 15 degrees, but more importantly they hate damp and drafts.
I've always kept mine in sheds or a garage (no cars) and out blankets over the hutches and given them plenty of hay to burrow in and they've been fine.

If that's not an option, I hope someone with outside-outside pigs will reply!

We do have some member who keep guinea pigs outdoors - but I would struggle to do this as it is so difficult to keep them warm and dry. It is best to keep them in a temperature range between 15 and 20 degrees .
OH won't let me keep mine indoors so I have them in a shed . I can keep their hutch warm with electric thermostatic heaters.

This is a good thread...
Cold Weather Care For Guinea Pigs

If you cant have them in a shed or outhouse you can get hutch huggers and rain covers. I have both over mine. I roll up the rain front during the day when its like this and down at night so they dont have a draft at night. You can also make sure the cage is in a sheltered area. Not in an area that turn into a wind tunnel when the bad weather kicks in x