Guinea Pigs Eating More Veggies Than Hay. New Owner

Status
Not open for further replies.

Redis

New Born Pup
Reaction score
Hello, I am very new to guinea pigs and I recently have got two guinea pigs. They are lovely two males. I noticed that they are always hungry for veggies whenever I offer then they would eat all, especially lettuce and beg for more. It seems they would eat veggies more than hay. I believe I read somewhere that I should only give a certain amount of veggie to them.
I am not sure if I am doing something wrong. Shall I constantly provide fresh veggies to them or not?
Thanks in advance.

Nope - don't offer them veggies constantly - they want them all the time because they love them, not because it is the best thing for them. Make sure they have a constant supply of hay - they will eat it (and enjoy it) until veggies come along.

Their diet should work out at 80% hay, 15% veg and 5% nuggets. Don't let them bully you!

Dito, though psonaly l like the vege to incude a fair amount of red/yellow peppers , cos they a high in vitermin C, (very important to guinea pigs

:agr:

The veg they get should form part of a balanced diet. Am on my phone so it's tricky to add links to the stickies but look in the section related to food and you will find loads of info.

Nope - don't offer them veggies constantly - they want them all the time because they love them, not because it is the best thing for them. Make sure they have a constant supply of hay - they will eat it (and enjoy it) until veggies come along.

Their diet should work out at 80% hay, 15% veg and 5% nuggets. Don't let them bully you!

I was pleased to read this as mine eat lots of hay and some veg but hardly any nuggets.

PS gizzy also posted about peppers but mine won't touch peppers :(

I was pleased to read this as mine eat lots of hay and some veg but hardly any nuggets.

PS gizzy also posted about peppers but mine won't touch peppers :(