Guinea Pig Catching. Dominant Pig Driving Me Nuts!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Elbie

Junior Guinea Pig
Reaction score
So some of.you may remember my earlier threads looking for advice.

It seems one step forwards and 2 back with my dominant pig. She used to be fine being caught in her card tube but then after a while she refused to go in. It was almost like "I'm not falling for that. I can see your hand at the other end!". So then I graduated to the long bendy plastic tube. I have it bent at 90 degree angle and she was happy to go into that. I really thought I'd cracked it and she seemed to know the routine.

Fast forward a month and she is now refusing to go into that. I am at a loss what to do now. She won't go into a cosy or a box. If boxed in she will literally try to climb the walls to avoid going into the tube. If it try and nudge her in she will just jump and kick. I spent a good 20 minutes trying to catch her tonight and I was driven to tears with frustration. Eventually she just gives up and goes in but I'd rather not go through the stress beforehand (hers and mine) to get there.

I don't want to deprive her of floor time. No idea where to go from here really. The underpig has absolutely no problems at all!

Why don't you just pick her up? Sorry I haven't seen your other thread, but why are you having problems picking her up without the tube?

Why don't you just pick her up? Sorry I haven't seen your other thread, but why are you having problems picking her up without the tube?

She's still not at a place where she's happy to be held despite daily practice! She just freaks out if I try to slip a hand under. She practically turns herself inside out jumping and kicking and gives warning bites. I'm stuck where I know she needs to build a bridge and get used to being handled but at the same time I don't want to stress her out.