Girls near boys?

• Thread starter Thread starter LucyWoo
  • Start date Start date
Status
Not open for further replies.
L

LucyWoo

I am wondering about the 'myth' that seems to be going around. I was talking to a lady the other day who had been told that if she already has 2 bonded males, she should not have females as well as the males will start to fall out. I can see why people may think that, but it's not something I have ever seen or experienced. Has anyone actually found that this has happened?

I have no personal experience of this but I can see where it would make sense. A bonded pair of boys who are suddenly introduced to the smell of girls in the same room or in the cage next door may possibly start to bicker and fight over who would get the girls if they could reach them. The less dominant pig may feel the need to try to assert his dominance when girls are added to the equation.
I may be adding girls to my herd at some point and have thought about this. My solution was to just keep my bonded pair of boys in a different room away for the girls just to reduce the risk that they may fight.

I've never had this problem with rescue pairs of bonded boars that were introduced to the shed- thankfully or I would have to stop taking them in. I did have some boarders in once that got a bit flustered when they were out in the run and smelt girls (they were living in a different shed to the girls). Most boys I've had have been too interested in the girls to take any notice of their partner and to fight him. I have friends with bonded boars in the same shed as sows too. I look upon it as a 'test' if they are OK together with sows around its likely to be a good pairing- just my opinion though :) All my seperated boars that arrive in rescue have not had sows around them, they were the sole guineas, at least around sows they can excercise their natural urges ::)