• Discussions taking place within this forum are intended for the purpose of assisting you in discussing options with your vet. Any other use of advice given here is done so at your risk, is solely your responsibility and not that of this forum or its owner. Before posting it is your responsibility you abide by this Statement

Frusemide - Heatstroke?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Reaction score
Reading the CCT Newsletter I got a bit confused.

How exactly does a diuretic help when a piggy has heatstroke?

I am no expert, thats why I am asking, I am confused. When a piggy has a heatstroke, you need to cool it down, slowly, not too quickly as that would be quite a shock for their system. wet towels, shadow, fan, we know all that.

but wouldnt it make sense for the piggy to drink plenty to cool down, instead of giving the piggy something that makes it LOSE WATER? O_o

I have only known the use of a diuretic to shift fluid out of the lungs - but what has that got to do with heatstroke?
Do they automatically get liquid in their lungs when they have a heatstroke?

I am just completely lost and dont get why Vedra thinks we should have diuretic tablets in our first aid kit because of heatstroke?

Someone here, please, let that make sense to me!

Well, as no one has answered you, I guess everyone is as much in the dark as you are ;)

I'd think that Vedra suggests that diuretics might be needed as heatstroke can put the heart under extra pressure and this often, if not always, has a knock on effect to the lungs. As a consequence as you have mentioned, fluid can build up and compromise breathing. This in turn puts even more stress on the heart as it tries to compensate and beat harder. Ultimately this can lead to heart failure and death.