'Free roaming' guinea pigs

Fudge.Churro

New Born Pup
Reaction score
Hello, I'm new to guinea pig ownership but recently got two boars born in June , and I am just wondering if my set-up is ok...
I have the piggies essentially constantly 'free roaming' in a (securely) cordoned off area of a room (the area is much bigger than any C&C cages I've seen - about 200cm/150cm), with plans once they get bigger to remove the 'door' to their area and allow them to have the run of the full room whilst I am home. Their area is covered in fleece, with reusable pee pads placed in areas I know they pee more. They have several hides (fleecy and wooden) and also an open hamster heaven cage (100cm/50cm with a 40cm door, was one I had already due to me upgrading my hamsters cage) to use as a sort of oversized litter tray.
I wanted to do things this way as I thought 1. lots of space for the piggies and 2. cheap for me as I only had to buy the wood for the barrier and door
My question is - is this suitable? their enclosure does have a radiator in, but it's never used, I clean it regularly, and I have blocked them from accessing the pipes
If this is not suitable, or if you have anything which could make this more suitable, what would you suggest?

Many Thanks!
Liv (slave to Fudge, Churro and Luna the Hamster)

Hello and welcome to the forum. Sounds great. Would you like to post a picture? Would love to see it and your piggies too 😍

:wel:
From your description, this sounds absolutely perfect. They have got a good amount of space which is essential for boars.
If you want to post a picture of it, then you can do so by pressing the ‘attach files’ button below the message box.

Last edited:
Thanks to you both for your comments - you have put my mind at rest! I will attach a picture when I get home this evening :)