Floor Time

Status
Not open for further replies.

Alexa

Junior Guinea Pig
Reaction score
i am new to keeping piggies and loving it!

I keep reading about floor time, which I presume is where the piggies are out of their cage for some exercise and just a different place to their cage/hutch.

How do people do this? Any photos etc would be appreciated. I feel like it's a stupid question but I live in a rented house and couldn't just let mine walk anywhere and wee on the carpet! At first are they just shy and hide? I feel mine would just want to sit in the corner rather than move around!

Thanks for any advice x

Floor time can be a free run of the floor but it's safer for my pigs to be in an enclosed area. I put down some lino then cover it with a sheet or blanket - easier to walk on - then put up a temporary wall. I use wood, but many people join grids together.

Throw in some food and water, and a selection of toys and things, then let the pigs roam. You're right about pigs wanting to hide but given time they'll come out. ..

If you can enclose a big enough area, you'll be able to sit in it and get some close up time if your pigs fancy that.

Floor time is a chance for your animals to enjoy another environment. Imagine how you would feel if you were stuck in your bedroom 24/7 :D