First Time Guinea Pig Owner Advice

Bee&Charley

New Born Pup
Reaction score
Hi! This is my first time owning guinea pigs...I've had my girls (Bee and Charley) for a little over a month now. They turned exactly 11 weeks old yesterday. I had a couple questions that googling hasn't been able to clear up for me...is it possible to overfeed them veggies? I know certain ones are only recommended a couple times a week but for the daily ones (romaine lettuce, bell peppers) should it be kept to strictly a cup per day? Are there certain vegetable that are best for guinea pigs around this age? For hay, do they still need alfalfa hay if they have alfalfa in their pellets? I'm feeding them Oxbow Essentials Young Guinea Pig pellets. (They're also getting unlimited Oxbow Timothy hay of course.)

In terms of hair trims, how do you know if you should trim their fur? They're sisters but Charley's fur is definitely longer/curlier than Bee's. Sorry for so many questions, I just want to give them the best care possible.

:wel:

Hay is the most important part of the diet and it’s that which they need to be filling up on.

Veg is one cup per pig per day. I will be honest though, mine do get a little more than that but they are considerably older and used to it. If you wildly overfeed veg consistently though then you risk upsetting their digestive system and causing them to not eat enough hay.
Make sure you introduce any new veggies slowly so as to not overload their systems.
Fresh dog pee free grass can be introduced slowly to them.

They don’t need alfalfa at all, nor do they need alfalfa containing pellets (they are a marketing gimmick, piggies can be fed normal grass/timothy adult pellets from birth). Alfalfa is useful for pregnant sows to boost their reserves or piggies under three weeks of age (before they are weaned) but after that alfalfa is not something they should be eating. It’s not a grass hay and is too high in calcium.